ReadItSwapIt
ReadItSwapIt Book Logo
Search  for  
Browse

The following books are available in History & Politics (4939 titles):


Book Cover Image

Calcio: A History Of Italian Football by John Foot (More from this author). Added: In the last 24 hours new

'Calcio' tells the story of Italian football from its origins in the 1890's to the present day. It takes us through a history of great players and teams, of style, passion and success, but also of... read more


Book Cover Image

Dude, Where's My Country? by Michael Moore (More from this author). Added: In the last 24 hours new

The people of the United States, according to author and filmmaker Michael Moore (Bowling for Columbine, Stupid White Men), have been hoodwinked. Tricked, he says, by Republican lawmakers and their... read more


Book Cover Image

Mary & Elizabeth by Emily Purdy (More from this author). Added: In the last 24 hours new

Two sisters: united by blood, divided by the crown…Mary and Elizabeth is an unforgettable story of a powerful love affair that changed the course of history, perfect for fans of The Tudors and... read more


Book Cover Image

Gustav Klimt: Painter Of Women (Pegasus Series) by Susanna Partsch (More from this author). Added: In the last 24 hours new

The enfant terrible of the Viennese art scene, Klimt was notorious for his portraits of beautiful women. Illustrated with color reproductions, this book profiles the women who figured in the artist's... read more


Book Cover Image

Forgotten Voices Of The Holocaust: A New History In The Words Of The Men And Women Who Survived by Lyn Smith (More from this author). Added: In the last week

Following the success of "Forgotten Voices of the Great War" the series now chronicles one of human histories darkest hours. The author comes to the project following her significant work in... read more


Book Cover Image

The Bookseller Of Kabul by Åsne Seierstad (More from this author). Added: In the last week

Two weeks after September 11th, award-winning journalist Asne Seierstad went to Afghanistan to report on the conflict. In the following spring she returned to live with a bookseller and his family... read more


Book Cover Image

The Last Days Of The Reich:Collapse Of Nazi Germany, May 1945 (Cassell Military Paperbacks) by James Lucas (More from this author). Added: In the last week

<No description available yet>


Book Cover Image

When A Crocodile Eats The Sun by Peter Godwin (More from this author). Added: In the last week

After his father's heart attack in 1984, Peter Godwin began a series of pilgrimages back to Zimbabwe, the land of his birth, from Manhattan, where he now lives. On these frequent visits to check on... read more


Book Cover Image

Geisha by Liza Dalby (More from this author). Added: In the last week

In the mid-1970s, an American graduate student in anthropology joined the ranks of white-powdered geisha in Kyoto, Japan. Liza Dalby took the name Ichigiku and apprenticed in the famed Pontocho... read more


Book Cover Image

The Bronte Story: A Reconsideration Of Mrs Gaskell's Life Of Charlotte Bronte by Margaret Lane (More from this author). Added: In the last week

A modern rendition of the Bronte sister's lives based on recent findings and writings. Paperback....320 pages.


Book Cover Image

In The Heart Of The Sea: The Epic True Story That Inspired 'Moby Dick' by Nathaniel Philbrick (More from this author). Added: In the last week

The appeal of Dava Sobel's Longitude was that it illuminated a little-known piece of history through a series of captivating incidents and engaging personalities. Nathaniel Philbrick's In The Heart... read more


Book Cover Image

They Were At Waterloo: Boy Soldiers On The Battlefield by Julia Dobson (More from this author). Added: In the last week

<No description available yet>


Book Cover Image

The Great Philosophers: The Lives And Ideas Of History's Greatest Thinkers by Stephen Law (More from this author). Added: In the last week

Since the beginning of time mankind has struggled with the big questions surrounding our existence. Whilst most people have heard of Socrates, Machiavelli and Nietzsche, many are less clear on their... read more


Book Cover Image

Stars In Battledress: The Story Of Service Entertainers In World War II by Bill Pertwee (More from this author). Added: In the last week

'Stars in Battledress', as the army entertainers were known, was a flying squad of artistes that included Charlie Chester, Spike Milligan and Harry Secombe. The RAF Gang Shows boasted Tony Hancock,... read more


Book Cover Image

Underground London: Travels Beneath The City Streets by Stephen Smith (More from this author). Added: In the last week

London has been the source of inspiration for countless books, but in this marvelous work, Stephen Smith explores the life and history of the great city from an unusual angle: underneath. Beginning... read more


Book Cover Image

Shadows Of The Workhouse: The Drama Of Life In Postwar London by Jennifer Worth (More from this author). Added: In the last week

In this follow up to CALL THE MIDWIFE, Jennifer Worth, a midwife working in the docklands area of East London in the 1950s tells more stories about the fascinating people she encountered. There's the... read more


Book Cover Image

Alamein To Zem Zem by Keith Douglas (More from this author). Added: In the last week

<No description available yet>


Book Cover Image

Bosworth: The Birth Of The Tudors by Chris Skidmore (More from this author). Added: In the last week

<No description available yet>


Book Cover Image

The Railway Man by Eric Lomax (More from this author). Added: In the last week

Eric Lomax, a British army soldier, was captured by the Japanese during the Singapore campaign of 1942. A railroad buff since a child, he took strange pleasure in his work as a POW on the Burma-Siam... read more


Book Cover Image

Charge!: The Interesting Bits Of Military History by Justin Pollard (More from this author). Added: In the last week

<No description available yet>